This is generally not one of the first things that someone in mourning will think of. In many cases the family and and friends do not want their loved one’s profile on Facebook floating around in cyberspace. In this article we will walk you through the process of deleting, memorializing, or deactivating their profile.
Memorializing Your Loved One On Facebook
If you wish to memorialize the account you will be required to fill out a form that has information with their name, date of birth, email address associated with the account, and proof of death. Proof of death can be an obituary or newspaper article. (Find the form here.)
Memorializing the account removes some of the more sensitive information like status updates and restricts access to the confirmed “friends” only.
Deleting Your Loved Ones Facebook
If the family decides it would be best to delete the Facebook account completely this can be done by simply removing the account so that no one can view it. (If the account is removed – Facebook will not restore the account or provide any information about it unless required to do so by law)
If you have any other questions or concerns regarding Facebook accounts, refer to the “Help” section of Facebook.
Tags: Post-Death Procedures